StateBallot
James Uthmeier
2026 CANDIDATE RECORD

James Uthmeier

Attorney General

Florida attorney general; attorney

Source review: 2026-10-16
Explore Full Profile

Professional Background

Florida attorney general since February 2025. Previously Ron DeSantis’s chief of staff and general counsel, a Commerce Department adviser and an attorney in private practice.

Experience

  • Florida attorney general (2025–present)
  • Governor’s chief of staff (2021–2025)
  • Governor’s general counsel
  • U.S. Department of Commerce senior adviser/counsel (2017–2019)
  • Jones Day associate

Education

  • University of Florida: undergraduate and graduate study
  • Georgetown University Law Center: JD

Portrait provenance is retained in the full profile.

Positions & Public Record

healthcare

Insulin and PBM pricing lawsuit

Filed suit against insulin manufacturers, pharmacy-benefit managers and rebate aggregators, alleging pricing practices harmed Florida patients.

The filing contains allegations. This source does not establish a final judgment or a general position on Medicaid/ACA policy.

2026-09-22 · official ag release
corporations

Opposes the EU corporate-sustainability directive

Joined a letter urging Trump to oppose the EU Corporate Sustainability Due Diligence Directive, arguing it would burden US businesses and export ESG/DEI requirements.

Official 2025 release indexed with its summary; exact publication date not verified. Direct fetch returned 403 during this review.

Publication date not stated · official ag release
immigration

Protecting federal immigration agents and 287(g) coordination

Announced protections for immigration officers and their families and a dedicated ICE 287(g) liaison to strengthen state–federal enforcement coordination.

Evidence describes the statement or action on its date; it is not proof of an unchanged position on every related proposal.

Publication date not stated · official ag release
education

Remove exclusive ABA-accreditation prerequisite

Urged the Florida Supreme Court to remove its requirement that bar-exam applicants graduate from an ABA-accredited law school.

Evidence describes the statement or action on its date; it is not proof of an unchanged position on every related proposal.

2025-07-30 · signed official comment letter
education

Textbook-pricing enforcement

Sued McGraw Hill and Savvas, alleging overcharges to Florida school districts under state purchasing law.

Allegations in a lawsuit, not a finding that either company is liable.

2025-08-19 · official ag release
technology

Sought injunction against Meta

Filed a motion for a temporary injunction against Meta Platforms.

The announcement establishes a request for relief, not that an injunction was granted. Detailed legal claims require the linked motion.

2026-10-07 · official ag release

Follow the Money

Reporting period: 2025-02-24 – 2026-10-09.

Reported Receipts
$1,889,453.73
Reported Disbursements
$563,020.13
Loans
$0.00
Monetary Contributions
$1,889,453.73
In-Kind Contributions
$276,369.77

Figures belong to this account and reporting period. They are not lifetime funding or personal wealth. Receipts, in-kind contributions, loans and spending are separate measures.

Candidate committee receipts and independent expenditures are different money flows. Outside spending has not been comprehensively acquired. Missing records do not mean zero funding or no support. Contributor legal classifications are not inferred from a donor’s industry or political views.

View Donors & Records

Sources & Further Records

Source-linked statements, votes, sponsorship and executive actions are distinct. The interactive profile retains news search, donor pagination and official archives. Historical campaign records do not establish current office or current views.

Research standards and corrections · Browse More Profiles