StateBallot
SH
2026 CANDIDATE RECORD

Seth Harp

Representative in Congress, District 3

Civics teacher; former broadcaster

Source review: 2026-10-17
Explore Full Profile

Professional Background

Seth Harp’s campaign biography describes him as a seventh-grade civics teacher at Lincoln Middle School in Gainesville. Before teaching, he worked in broadcasting for more than 25 years, holding on-air and management roles across six states. It also describes his work as operations manager at ESPN Gainesville and as an adjunct professor in the University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications.

Positions & Public Record

healthcare

Affordable healthcare

Supports affordable healthcare access without medical bankruptcy.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
taxes

Social Security financing

Proposes raising the Social Security payroll-tax cap to $250,000 without reducing retiree payments.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
children

Sliding-scale childcare

Proposes income-based childcare assistance through his C.U.B.S. plan.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
housing

Corporate home acquisitions

Proposes escalating taxes on large corporate home purchases and incentives for affordable construction.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
healthcare

Behavioral-health workforce

Proposes training assistance and grants intended to double the behavioral-health workforce over a decade.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
education

Student-loan costs

Proposes a 3.1% federal student-loan interest cap and income-linked repayment.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
corporations

Executive compensation

Proposes limiting executive compensation to 150 times median employee pay.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
technology

Broadband affordability

Proposes nationwide broadband access targeting a $10 monthly price.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
taxes

Corporate taxation

Proposes a 26% corporate tax rate and changes to high-value executive stock taxation.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
veterans

Veterans’ dental care

Proposes comprehensive dental coverage through the VA.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
education

School meals

Supports universal lunch for public-school students.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform
environment

Florida water infrastructure

Supports water conservation, filtration investment, lead-pipe replacement and freshwater protections.

Campaign proposal, not an enacted law or a verified fiscal outcome. Publication date not supplied; checked October 17, 2026.

Publication date not stated · campaign-platform

Follow the Money

Reporting period: 2025-04-01 – 2026-09-30.

Reported Receipts
$136,467.56
Cash on Hand
$45,810.63
Reported Disbursements
$90,656.93
Loans
$735.00

Figures belong to this account and reporting period. They are not lifetime funding or personal wealth. Receipts, in-kind contributions, loans and spending are separate measures.

Named committee amounts are spending-side reported contributions, not an exhaustive list of all individual donors. They are not added again to campaign receipt totals.

Independent expenditures are outside spending; campaigns do not receive these amounts. Missing amounts or committees do not establish zero funding or absence of political support.

Earmarked/conduit and memo entries are excluded from direct-contribution totals. A committee passing on earmarked individual gifts is not treated as the original donor.

IE processing removes superseded reports and repeated transaction IDs; late or amended reports may change totals. Current source records should be reviewed before drawing conclusions.

View Donors & Records

Sources & Further Records

Source-linked statements, votes, sponsorship and executive actions are distinct. The interactive profile retains news search, donor pagination and official archives. Historical campaign records do not establish current office or current views.

Research standards and corrections · Browse More Profiles